Databases

Advanced Search

Browse Databases

Browse Databases A-Z
  • A
  • B
  • C
  • D
  • E
  • F
  • G
  • H
  • I
  • J
  • K
  • L
  • M
  • N
  • O
  • P
  • Q
  • R
  • S
  • T
  • U
  • V
  • W
  • X
  • Y
  • Z
  • All

African American Newspapers Series I, 1827 - 1998

Publication coverage: 1827 - 1998

Chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience, African American Newspapers, Series 1, features 280 newspapers from 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.

African American Periodicals 1825 - 1995

Publication coverage: 1825 - 1995

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995, features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans.

African Diaspora, 1860-present

Publication coverage: 1860-present

Primary source documents covering migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent, with a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France.

American National Biography

Includes over 19,000 biographies of significant and influential figures who lived in the U.S. from the Colonlal Period to the present.

Black Studies Center

Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books and much more.

Black Studies in Video

An award-winning collection that brings together seminal documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the Black experience. The database contains 500 hours of film covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues.

Black Thought and Culture: African Americans from Colonial Times to the Present

Black Thought and Culture contains the full text of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writing by leading figures in African American life and culture.

Caribbean Studies in Video

Streaming video access to the archives the Banyan Production company of Trinidad and Tobago, the first producer of original television in the Caribbean. Material include interviews with writers and cultural figures, documentaries, and theater, music, and dance performances.

Historical Abstracts

Publication coverage: 1954 - present

Comprehensive index to scholarly literature on world history from 1450 to present (excluding the U.S. and Canada).

Independent Voices

Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Ask Us

Ask Us

For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.

ask us more