Databases

Advanced Search

Browse Databases

Browse Databases A-Z
  • A
  • B
  • C
  • D
  • E
  • F
  • G
  • H
  • I
  • J
  • K
  • L
  • M
  • N
  • O
  • P
  • Q
  • R
  • S
  • T
  • U
  • V
  • W
  • X
  • Y
  • Z
  • All

ARTFL Project

The ARTFL Project is a full-text database containing nearly 2000 French literature texts.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index

Publication coverage: 1975 - present

A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.

CAIRN

CAIRN (Cairn.info) offers the most comprehensive online collection of francophone publications in social sciences and humanities. In 2019, more than 500 journals and 10 000 eBooks from major French, Belgian and Swiss publishers can be accessed by students, scholars and librarians worldwide.

Érudit

Érudit, based in Quebec, publishes Canadian scholarly journals, primarily in French although the collection includes a few bilingual and English titles. It also serves as a publishing centre for journals supported by the Fonds québécois de recherche sur la société et la culture.

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism

Publication coverage: Classical antiquity - present

A key resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse. Includes entries on literary critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. 

Le Grand Robert & Collins

A bilingual dictionary (English-French, French-English) where users can find detailed definitions, translations, supplemental notes on the language in use, and cultural notes on significant events, traditions, customs and institutions where information is not covered by the dictionary definition. Also includes audio pronunciation.

Le Petit Robert (online)

An online French dictionary that includes detailed definitions with examples, expressions, synonyms, antonyms, etymologies, literary citations, and more. Some entries provide verb conjugations and audio pronunciations.

MLA Directory of Periodicals

The MLA Directory of Periodicals provides detailed information on over 6,000 journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing. Articles published in works listed in the directory are indexed in the MLA International Bibliography.

MLA International Bibliography

Publication coverage: 1925 - present

Comprehensive index to scholarly writing on literature, language, linguistics, literary criticism, folklore, drama, literary genres, etc.

Ask Us

Ask Us

For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.

ask us more