For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.
Databases
Full text of more than 1,500 works by American dramatists from the early 18th century up to the beginning of the 20th century.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Publication coverage: 1975 - present
A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.Publication coverage: late 19th century - contemporary (ongoing)
Contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theatres, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the playsPublication coverage: mid-1800s - present
Black Drama, Third Edition contains the full text of more than 1.700 plays from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. The collection includes musical comedies, domestic dramas, folk dramas, history plays, anti-slavery plays, one-act plays, and other works.
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books and much more.
A digital streaming collection of over 1000 full-length films of Shakespeare plays, modern dramas, classical music, dance, musicals, opera and adaptations of classic novels.
This award-winning digital library has been created as a response to the need for a high-quality online research tool for drama and literature students, professors, and teachers. It is the only resource to combine exclusively available playtext content and scholarly publications with filmed live performances, film adaptations, and audio plays.
Publication coverage: 1737-1824
Eighteenth Century Drama is a collection of digitized play manuscripts and includes nearly every play submitted for license in the United Kingdom from 1737-1824.
English Drama contains more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose from the late thirteenth century to the early twentieth. The works were acted on or intended for the stage, and includes masques, interludes, short dramatic pieces, translations, and adaptations.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Publication coverage: 1880 - 2015
Full text of entertainment industry trade magazines from the U.S. and Britain, covering film, music, broadcasting, and theatre plus film fan magazines and music press titles.Ask Us
Ask Us
New / Trial Databases
This resource provides access to International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions & literal translations of aria and art song texts. The extensive IPA Source library has over 15,761 professionally translated and transcribed titles including texts of arias, art songs and liturgical texts in French, Italian, German, Spanish English, and Latin and represents works from 923 composers and 1,143 poets
Trial runs from 2/6-2/27
Database Trial: IPA Source
Please contact Cory Laverty corinne.laverty@queensu.ca with feedback.