Databases

Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters

Publication coverage: 1650-1920

Frontier Life is a collection of primary source documents, videos and other information pertaining to the life on various frontiers that arose from the movements of Europeans to Africa, Australasia and North America in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Héritage

Héritage draws from the rich corpus of archival microfilm held by Library and Archives Canada, with a focus on fonds from the individuals and organizations that have shaped Canada's history. Politics, arts and literature, labour, military, Indigenous history, social justice and women's history are particular areas of strength.

Independent Voices

Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Indigenous Peoples, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press, and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

iPortal: Indigenous Studies Portal

The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal), an initiative of the University of Saskatchewan Library, is a database of full-text electronic resources including articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.