For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.
Databases
CAIRN (Cairn.info) offers the most comprehensive online collection of francophone publications in social sciences and humanities. In 2019, more than 500 journals and 10 000 eBooks from major French, Belgian and Swiss publishers can be accessed by students, scholars and librarians worldwide.
Publication coverage: 1883-2010
Publication coverage: 1961-2013, 2015
A series of over 300 volumes spanning ten subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.
The Cambridge History of the Graphic Novel provides the complete history of the graphic novel from its origins in the nineteenth century to its rise and startling success in the twentieth and twenty-first century. It includes original discussion on the current state of the graphic novel and analyzes how American, European, Middle Eastern, and Japanese renditions have shaped the field.
Cambridge Shakespeare is a comprehensive collection of materials related to Shakespeare, published by Cambridge University Press.
Cambridge Structural Database System
Publication coverage: 1965 to present
CSD is a repository for small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structures compiled from the published literature and directly deposited data.
A selection of ebooks on multiple subjects from Cambridge University Press.
Information about women authors who lived in Canada, or wrote about Canada, prior to 1940.
Publication coverage: 1975-
CBRAonline — the most comprehensive, authoritative database for quality reviews of Canadian authored titles — was launched in 2009 to fill the need for an easily searchable electronic version of the trusted reference work, Canadian Book Review Annual.
Canadian magazines, scholarly journals, news and wire feeds and Canada focused articles spanning business, education, current affairs; also agriculture, economics, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and many more subject areas.
Database Search
Database Search provides multiple ways to search for research databases, with options to browse and filter your results.
Databases are online collections of journals, magazines and newspapers, articles, e-Books, video, music, images, or other digital content. The Library provides access to hundreds of research databases in many subject and discipline areas.
Research by Subject
You can also refer to our Research by Subject page to find specialized databases and guides for your discipline and subject librarians who can help you with search strategies.
Ask Us
Ask Us
New / Trial Databases
The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics, power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues such as agriculture, nutrition and food production.
Trial ends: March 10, 2023
Contact for feedback: Elizabeth Gibson (gibsone@queensu.ca)
This collection contains an extensive range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Publications are included from many key nations involved in the conflict, such as the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and the countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East.
Trial ends: March 10, 2023
Contact for feedback: Elizabeth Gibson (gibsone@queensu.ca)