For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.
Databases
Publication coverage: 1903-2010
Publication coverage: Coverage dating back to 1929
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Publication coverage: 1701-1800
A digital collection of significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in during the eighteenth century.Eighteenth Century Collections Online Text Creation Partnership (ECCO-TCP)
Publication coverage: 1701-1800
Contains fully searchable re-keyed, electronic editions of a selection of key texts from the Eighteenth Century Collection Online (ECCO)Publication coverage: 1737-1824
Eighteenth Century Drama is a collection of digitized play manuscripts and includes nearly every play submitted for license in the United Kingdom from 1737-1824.Publication coverage: Mid-17th to early 19th century
Brings together rare journals printed between c1680 and 1835, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life across the British Empire including the colonies of India, Canada, and the Caribbean.Eighteenth Century Journals: A Portal to Newspapers and Periodicals c1685-1835
Publication coverage: Mid-17th to early 19th Century
Many of the journals are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and coffee house gossip and discussion. There is minimal overlap with Early English Books Online (EEBO), Early English Newspapers and Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO).
A collection of 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780 by writers from the British Isles.
Global political insights, policy analysis, economic assessments, forecasts and data. Country analysis, economic and commodity forecasts, industry outlooks and macro-economic indicators
Electronic Enlightenment is the most wide-ranging online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century — reconstructing one of the world's great historical “conversations.”
Database Search
Database Search provides multiple ways to search for research databases, with options to browse and filter your results.
Databases are online collections of journals, magazines and newspapers, articles, e-Books, video, music, images, or other digital content. The Library provides access to hundreds of research databases in many subject and discipline areas.
Research by Subject
You can also refer to our Research by Subject page to find specialized databases and guides for your discipline and subject librarians who can help you with search strategies.