For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.
Databases
This database is a full-text/full-image searchable digital archive of about 1,270 newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom.
Publication coverage: Pre-1925
Combines various general, scientific, religious, psychological, and legal indexes covering the nineteenth century.Publication coverage: 1800-1900
This database includes periodicals published in Great Britain between 1800 and 1900, giving insight into many aspects of the 19th century life--literature and culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, the professions.
A digital repository for social science data, including Statistics Canada public use microdata files, public opinion polls, and Canadian Opinion Research Archive (CORA) data.
AATA online: Abstracts of International Conservation Literature
Comprehensive coverage of literature related to the preservation and conservation of cultural heritage.ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
Publication coverage: 1920 - present
Part of the Literature Online database, ABELL indexes monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, doctoral dissertations, book reviews and collections of essays concerning English language, literature, bibliography and traditional culture published worldwide from 1920 onwards.Publication coverage: 1971 -
New - Coming January 1 2022, ProQuest One Business includes all ABI/Inform content and more. Business database containing the full text of thousands of sources, including essential scholarly journals, trade magazines, company news and reports.Publication coverage: 1971-
New - Coming January 1 2022, ProQuest One Business includes all ABI/Inform content and more.Publication coverage: 1980 - present (updated daily)
Multidisciplinary index to scholarly peer-reviewed academic journals, as well as newspaper and audio material, including podcasts and news transcripts.Publication coverage: 1865 - present
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database which provides indexing (with abstracts) to peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports.Ask Us
Ask Us
New / Trial Databases
The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics, power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues such as agriculture, nutrition and food production.
Trial ends: March 10, 2023
Contact for feedback: Elizabeth Gibson (gibsone@queensu.ca)
This collection contains an extensive range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Publications are included from many key nations involved in the conflict, such as the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and the countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East.
Trial ends: March 10, 2023
Contact for feedback: Elizabeth Gibson (gibsone@queensu.ca)