Databases

Advanced Search

Browse Databases

Browse Databases A-Z

NFB.ca - National Film Board's online Screening Room

Publication coverage: 1920s to present

This collection of over 1,100 streamed videos from the NFB is freely available for personal use. In addition, Queen's Library has purchased public performance rights for educational use and display at Queen's.

Nick Hern Books

This collection contains over 570 titles from specialist theatre publisher Nick Hern Books. Since its founding in 1988, Nick Hern Books has cultivated a list of plays that includes work by many of the UK and Ireland’s pre-eminent playwrights, as well as some of the most exciting emerging writers. The company has established an enviable list of plays by some of the foremost playwrights of our times, including Howard Brenton, Jez Butterworth, Caryl Churchill, David Edgar, Liz Lochhead, Conor McPherson, Rona Munro, Enda Walsh and Nicholas Wright. More recent additions to the list include plays by Mike Bartlett, Alecky Blythe, Alexi Kaye Campbell, Vivienne Franzmann, debbie tucker green, Ella Hickson, Lucy Kirkwood, Bruce Norris, Nina Raine, Jack Thorne and Tom Wells.

Nineteenth-Century Fiction

This database includes 250 complete works of prose fiction from the period 1782 to 1903, by writers from the British Isles.

Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue

Publication coverage: 1801 - 1919

Citations to almost all print publications (books, periodicals, directories and other ephemera) in the British Empire and the USA from 1801-1919.

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories

Publication coverage: 1800 - 1950

Letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives by over 1900 immigrants to the United States and Canada between 1800 and 1950.

North American Indian Thought and Culture

Publication coverage: 17th century - present

Integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files.

North American Women's Drama

Publication coverage: Mid 1700s - present

North American Women's Drama brings together more than 1,500 plays by more than 300 playwrights, along with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theatres, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries

North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the personal experiences of 1,325 women who lived in North America from colonial times to 1950.

Nouveau petit Robert de la langue franҫaise

A French dictionary including word entries with definitions illustrated by examples, author biographical references, idioms, homonyms, synonyms, antonyms, and hundreds of citations. Also provides verb conjugations and audio pronunciations for some entries. Updated annually.

Ask Us

Ask Us

For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.

ask us more